Hanging out with all guys is not new to me. Actually the complete opposite! I find myself actually feeling slightly strange when I'm with all girls because I've become so used to hanging out with my guy friends so much. But when things like this happen, it gets a little awkward.
By the way, the names have been changed so that people don't get offended...even though they probably will anyways.
The kids I hang out with seem to have forgotten I'm a girl sometimes. I had one boy try to kick me in the balls this summer and I had to literally remind him I was not a boy. But this afternoon, after the chant of "sosten bra! sosten bra!" during lunch, I had study hall with Mrs. C.
I love Mrs. C. She may be my favorite teacher. But she has a tendency to meddle in the affairs of teenage romances. This has nothing to do with the fact I have a relationship. I don't. Which is a good thing because boys are gross...plus I already got my heart busted. So I'm not in the mood to do it again anytime soon.
But we were sitting there, and Adam and Mrs. C were going back and forth about siblings. Adam little sister is probably the cutest girl in school. She's a beautiful girl with blond hair and pretty eyes. She's insane, sure, but she's really pretty. So they were talking about that and Mrs. C. makes the comment, "Well, you'll have to look out when boys start going after her."
Adam kind of shrugs and Mrs. C. talks about how she always wanted an older brother to rough up the boys who came around. And of course, I exclaim:
"No you don't!"
Well I don't technically have an older brother. But my "big brother" would be my life long friend, Charles. He's this big Filipino guy who weighs in about 250lbs. I've known him my whole life. He makes a point to rough up/meet every single one of my boyfriends and/or friend boys.
So I explained this to Mrs. C. and of course it can't stay simple like that. Adam looks over at me.
"You mean that big Filipino kid? You didn't tell him about me did you?"
And I just sit there for a second. Because Adam's never talked about us being friends in public before. We don't even have a thing if that's what your thinking. We are just friends and that's all. But the whole group of guys behind us kind of turns around and stares. Because Adam and I don't talk about our friendship really. Adam's weird like that. He thinks it'll reflect badly on him or something. (No offense, Adam.)
"I did." I admit, laughing.
The whole time Mrs. C. is staring at us, glancing from Adam to me, me to Adam, and Adam to me. So forth and so on.
"This is because your friends or because you just talk about him?" Mrs. C. asks, looking at Adam.
"She just talks about me." he says. Which annoys me, and I glare at him before going back to writing.
"No, it's cause we're friends." I respond, kind of irritated.
Then this awkward silence falls across the classroom and Mrs. C. is smiling at me, eyes wide in this kind of nervous expression. And out of the corner of my eye I see Lewis pound Adam on the back and say something along the lines of, "Way to go, man. Score."
And being the completely oblivious kind of guy he is Adam responds, "What do you mean?"
Mrs. C. and I exchange a glance and I look back at my work.
So, its only really during these sort of times that I begin to get that awkward feeling around guys that makes me want to crawl into a hole and hide for a few centuries. Like when they chant the Spanish word for bra loudly in the cafeteria, or talk about girls, or realize I'm a girl a second to late, or when awkward, half accusations are made towards me and one of the guys I hang out with. Unfortunately it's usually Adam and I who get those weird accusations. And usually its from Mrs. C. She seems to think we'd make a good couple. And she's told me as much. In front of my whole class.
So that doesn't help my nonpublic friendship much. Ha ha!
Until the clouds turn purple,
Adeline
No comments:
Post a Comment