Has anyone noticed that the longer your alive, the more grey areas there seem to be. When your a kid, your taught right and wrong. Your parents say going out after dark is bad, its bad. Your parents say smoking, drinking, and drugs is wrong, you create yourself a little world where you keep all of those things out. Your just a little kid, you don't know anything. So its an easy thing to do. Sure you may not want to sometimes, but it doesn't matter. Your parents are your parents. They'll spank you.
Then you grow up. You grow up and realize your parents can't spank you. You hear that drugs and drinking and smoking isn't bad all the time. Just sometimes. But you remember what your parents say and stay away from it. But now, your curiosity is peaked. You think, "Hey...maybe its not all bad. I'm not going to do it. But it doesn't seem as awful as mom and dad said."
Underage drinking and underage smoking is so normal now-a-days that people expect teenagers to be smoking, drinking, and doing drugs. We're not all like that, but its how they view us. But now, those of us that are the minority are kind of starting to wonder...
Is it as bad as it looks?
Let me start here in the section of this blog where I seem smart.
First of all, ALL UNDERAGE DRINKING AND SMOKING IS STUPID! There are laws for a reason. Its just to protect us...well some of the laws are to protect us. Not all of them. But these are here to protect us. A fourteen year old kid can not handle beer very well. A sixteen year old girl should not be telling me stories about how she got wasted on a bottle of Jack Daniels and some vodka. (Why is she not dead?! THAT'S WAY TO MUCH ALCOHOL FOR HER 90 POUND FRAME!!!)
Second, drinking and smoking in excess is also stupid. Drinking until your get totally wasted and can't remember what happened last night or getting so drunk you sleep with someone then wake up next to them without any memory about how you got there is completely and utterly idiotic in every way possible. Smoking until you sound like an old car engine? Um...that just doesn't seem appealing to me at all. Do you want to die of lung cancer and sound like a broken down car? I don't really think you do.
Third, drugs in general is also retarded. To start out they're kind of, sort of illegal. So that's a problem. Another problem is that they turn you into a stupid person basically. One of my favorite lines from a book I read was when two kids were talking about smoking. One was smoking a cigarette and one was smoking weed. The pot head looks at the girl who's smoking and says, "You know, smoking weed is a lot more healthy for you." The girl answers, "I may die young, but at least I won't die stupid. (That's John Greens, "Looking For Alaska", which is an excellent book aside from the cussing and those two scenes that I skipped.)
The important thing is, to think before you do something. Being impulsive can get you killed.
Look, I have friends who smoke. I have friends who drink. I have friends who do drugs or have done drugs. I have friends who do all bloody three. The ones who are stupid about it, I don't give them my time. They aren't worth it. The ones who do it in moderation I respect a little more. People who do drugs, I'm just there to try to get them to stop doing it.
These are the grey areas though! As Christians we have to decide where we draw the line. Obviously, the line for drugs should be way far away from it. Drugs are bad. Don't do them. THEY'RE ILLEGAL.
Drinking? Some Christians put their line with drinking right with their drug line. Which is OK. And then their are Christians who drink. If your a Christian, you should know better than to get wasted. But an occasional drink is not going to kill you if you do it wisely.
Smoking? Some Christian's think is OK. Some don't. I don't have much to say about that one. My opinion on the matter is that, as long as you don't smoke in excess it's OK. Cigars on holidays? That's OK too. Pipes? Since my best guy friends think their cool, I'm obligated to think so as well.
Just be smart. Don't do something stupid for the moment it makes you feel good. There are plenty of other ways to make yourself feel better that don't involve poisoning yourself slowly.
Until my opinions don't matter to me anymore,
Christina
PS
That won't ever happen by the way...the part about my opinions not mattering to me. They may stop mattering to you, but not to me.
No comments:
Post a Comment