If you recall from several posts ago, I vowed to wear my fedora at camp. A fedora, if you don't know, is a hat. It's sort of like a cow boy hat, only think more mafia/mob sort of thing. If I can figure out how to use this thing (pokes computer screen) then I'll post a picture of the infamous hat.
Unfortunately, through a strange set of circumstances involving ding dong ditching, frozen muffins, and porn watching Indian boys, I lost my fedora on my trip to camp. It never got to be seen by my crazy friends. It was a very depressing time for me. I started crying. If it was from lack of sleep, the sentimental value of the hat, or the fact I'm a female and I was PMSing we will never know, but I was crying none the less.
My "older brother" had given me the cranial covering a few years before hand before he left for college in North Carolina. He wasn't really my big brother. But I'd known him since before I could remember and as far as I knew, he'd always been there for me. I love my fake big brother. So I treasured that hat like a dragon hoarded his treasure.
But there I was at camp. Hatless.
Of course I did have my New York Yankee's cap...but it didn't have the effect I was going for.
But, out of the blue, I get a phone call around 11:30pm yesterday afternoon.
Me: Hello?
Charles: Squish!
Me: Ha ha! Hey Charles.
Charles: Hey. So...what are you doing today?
Me: Nothing. Just packing.
Charles: Oh really. Packing?
Me: Yeah...
Charles: I have a question for you.
Me: What's that?
*Door bell rings*
It was one of the best surprises anyone could have given me. I ran the rest of the way down the stairs and opened the door. Charles was standing there, grinning. I attacked him. Literally. If he wasn't basically two of me put together, I would've knocked him over.
But he surprised me by showing up at my house (this was all planned with my mother completely last minute) and taking me out to lunch. It was amazing. But on my way out to his car, I spotted a box in the front seat.
It was wrapped in newspaper. (College kids...so poor.) And what do you think was inside?
A new fedora.
So yes. A new fedora has entered my life. It is just like the last one only a bit bigger and more sturdy. I am looking forward to all the adventures I shall have wearing it.
I'll be traveling out of the country tomorrow. I'm excited about going with my youth group on our very first international missions trip. I shan't tell you where we are going, but you shall hear about it when I return. As much as I wish I could update my blog from there I do not think it will be possible.
So, come the 30th of July, I shall return and fill you in on all the juicy details. Until then though, stay safe. Stay strong. Stay with God. I will miss you all.
Until monkeys aren't cool anymore,
Adeline Taylor
PS
Lexander, when I return, we should get together and play Monster Hunter. I don't own it yet, but I'd love to just hang out and watch if I can. See you soon.
So this is me in my fedora. I did get my computer to work. I'm so proud of myself. Bwahaha.

No comments:
Post a Comment